Day 4: simple french braid

Welcome to Day 4 of our series where we challenged you to try a new, fast hairstyle every day this week! Keep reading for today’s style…


As this school week comes to an end, I thought I would share my favorite style for keeping my hair back. Sometimes it’s nice to just get it all back and out of the way for once, especially since I have side-bangs and layers!

a2

Wearing a french braid makes me feel so French I want all the french fries and french bread and… jk. 😉

I’ve gotten so fast at doing a french braid on myself that I can do it anytime, anywhere, and without a mirror. The perfect portable life-saver…

Learn This Style:

Here’s the video I saw when I first learned to french braid on myself! Braiding behind your head can be really hard, but this girl gives very clear, detailed, simple instructions that taught me how. Enjoy!

 

I like to pull out some shorter hair around my face from the french braid, to soften the style and… so I don’t look scalped. 😛

Ever since a little friend drew a portrait of me during church from his row in front of us… I’ve tried to make sure my updos, ponytails, or braids have at least some hair visible from the front. I literally had no hair in the picture, because he couldn’t see any!!! lol 😂 😂 *hides*

a

 

This style is especially gorgeous on thick hair, so, y’all sweet commenters, be sure to try it out!! And if your hair is shorter, just end the french braid in a ponytail at the base of your head instead of continuing to braid the rest of your hair. 🙂

I encourage you to master this french braid on your own hair. It takes lots of practice to be able to make it not lumpy or loopy (eyes on the back of your head would be so useful, right?!!), but it is so worth the time-saving and ease later on. 😀

What is your favorite kind of braid?

annaend

15 thoughts on “Day 4: simple french braid

  1. I’ll try this one! It might be a challenge, though. XD Yesterday I wasn’t able to do it since I had to leave and couldn’t check. But I’m hoping to try this one!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I TRIED IT!!! AND I THINK IT WORKED!!! 😛 Obviously I can’t see the back of my head, but it feels pretty good. Thanks for the advice! I had basically resigned myself to never being able to do a french braid on myself, but due to your encouragement, I tried and it worked. 😀 BTW, you must have really strong arm muscles, Anna. It hurts to hold my arms up for so long! 😛 Anyway, thank you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If you decide to end the braid in a ponytail, you can actually tuck it up underneath the braiding, stick a couple bobby pins in, and it’s all kinds of elegant! *heart eyes* (Although this works best if your hair is on the shorter side, since tucking a super long amount of hair under is going to be challenging.)

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I basically lived in french braids when I was young. That was the easiest, long-lasting hairstyle that my mother could do. And, yes. I usually looked bald… 😛
    My hair is really fine, so I like to keep them looser, but these are so much fun!
    Once you master one braid, try two! That is such a pretty style. Or start at one side of the top of your head and braid sideways and twist it up in different patterns. 😛

    Like

Leave a comment